gov lk large

The Treasury was established in 1806 A.D. as a sub-institution under the Controller of Revenue. It was upgraded to a major institution in 1834. The Treasury was brought under the Ministry of Finance in 1948. During this era, the functions of the Treasury were carried out by several divisions; General Administration Division, Budget Division, Accounts and Payments Division, Finance Division, Economic Affairs Division, Fiscal Policy Division, External Resources Division, Public Enterprises Division, Communication Division, Internal Audit and Investigation Division, Procurement and Advisory Service Unit, Insurance Division. The External Resources Division was responsible for organization and channeling of external resources.

As a consequence of the Treasury restructuring process, the existing Treasury divisions were upgraded to Departments on 01st of January 1993. As a result, the External Resources Division was promoted as the External Resources Department (ERD). The ERD is headed by a Director General assisted by Additional Director Generals, Directors, Assistant Directors and other supportive staff.

FaLang translation system by Faboba